Courtney and Parker

cropped-tumblr_static_tumblr_static__640.jpg“Well, I think it’s an act of rebellion to be a whole person, right? It’s an act of rebellion to show up as your whole self, and especially the parts that are complex, that are unfinished, that are vulnerable.” –Courtney Martin, in conversation with Krista Tippett and Parker Palmer for On Being

“Am I being faithful to the needs I see around me, within my reach? And am I being faithful to those points at which my gifts might intersect those needs in some life-giving way?” -Parker Palmer, in the same conversation

Listening to that conversation changed the way I think about my action in this world. I realized that I had to stop trying to forcibly maneuver myself into a place where authenticity would just show up on its own. Instead, I began to practice the real work of showing up as a whole person, right where I am. This site is part of that practice.

While my work is in the hospitality industry (lower case h), my practice of capital H Hospitality is not always second nature. Henri Nouwen defines capital H Hospitality beautifully: “Hospitality means primarily the creation of free space where the stranger can enter and become a friend instead of an enemy. Hospitality is not to change people, but to offer them space where change can take place. It is not to bring men and women over to our side, but to offer freedom not disturbed by dividing lines.”

And that’s my practice today…not trying to change people, but instead offering a space where change can happen: as a leader, as a service industry professional, as a member of a community. I’m the rebel at the door, creating space, cultivating wholeness. We are all rebels at the door when we choose to enter with openness, love and compassion.

This entry was posted in About.

Leave a Reply

